Running, Training Diaries

Training Diaries – 01/01/2014

Well, it was New Year’s Morning, so obviously I should not be blamed for dip in my performance…. 😛

On a serious note, I had 1- 2 beers and lots of spicy & fatty food on New Year’s eve and slept very late (around 2:30 p.m.)…I had set my alarm for 4:45 a.m. and was hoping that I would be up 5:30 a.m in any case, and should be out running by 6 a.m. But as we say, Man Proposes and God Disposes…By the time I woke up, it was already 6:25 a.m.  Quite late for the run…Still, I got up and decided to get out of the door in minimum time possible…and 6:30 I was out running. I think I am faster in changing my clothes compared to my running pace..

So lets come to the important point i.e. distance and pace for the day….It was interval training day and ideally I should have done the following routine:

  1. Stretching
  2. Warm up run of 1.2 KM’s
  3. 5*1000 intervals at pace 10 second faster than the Target Pace.
  4. Cool down run of 1.2 KM
  5. Stretching & Finish

So, by the time I joined up with the group, they had already finished their 3 rounds of interval. Anyway, I decided to do the last two rounds of interval with them and then another 2 alone.

  1. 1st Interval: 5 min/km
  2. 2nd Interval: 4:50 min/km
  3. 3rd interval: 4:45 min/km
  4. 4th interval: 4:40 min/km

Ideally, I would have liked to keep a pace of 4:30 min/km for first three intervals and closing the final interval at 3:45 mins/km pace…However, I started feeling the fatigue from the last night adventures from very first interval run, and decided to take it slow. No point in getting injured just for the sake of keeping a target pace in a training run. Tomorrow is a new day, and hopefully, I will redeem myself  🙂

Amen..!!

Standard

Leave a Reply

